Chasin Frankie holds on in the first heat of Sweepstakes

17 August 2022
by Duncan Dornauf

Chasin Frankie became the first horse to qualify for the $26,000 Cavalor Equine Sweepstakes Fillies Final, with an all-the-way win in the first heat in Hobart on Tuesday night.

The daughter of Stonebridge Regal had recently joined the Tammy Langley stable after her win in Hobart in late June.

Reinsman Dylan Ford took the two-year-old straight to the lead, and to his delight, he got a soft run during a 33.7s second quarter in the mile race.

“It was good to see her relax in front.

“She has been a handful, she trialed two weeks ago, and has only had one fast-work since as she is a bit hard to do anything with.

“But after last night, we will be able to put more work into her, which will be good,” explained Ford.

Chasin Frankie kicked clear around the home bend but had to dig deep late when challenged by $1.90 favourite Cee Tee Chelsea on the Nutrien Sprint Lane.

“I didn’t think at the top of the straight that she (Cee Tee Chelsea) would get me, but close to the post, I was getting a little bit worried, but she did stick her nose out near the winning post, which is a good sign,” said Ford.

“Depending on what happens in the next heat, the final will come down to the barrier draws, which will make it interesting and make it a good race,” added the winning driver.

Ford ended the night with a double, after knocking most people out of their quaddies with Boulder City at $26 later in the night.

The first heat of the colts and geldings division of the Cavalor Equine Sweepstakes was taken out by the Todd Rattray-trained and driven Nyack, who led all the way to defeat short-price favourite Karalta Artemis, who wasn’t on his best behaviour early.

Nyack is a Sweet Lou colt who is out of 2010 Fillies Sweepstakes winner Benediction and is a half-relation to 2019 winner Kohannah.

Another heat of both divisions will be held on Sunday, before the two $26,000 finals on 3 September.

Bookmark and Share

< Back

  Queensland Racing Integrity Commission Tas Racing Racing and Wagering Western Australia Harness Racing Victoria Harness Racing South Australia Racing Queensland Harness Racing NSW Harness Racing Australia