



Level 1, 400 Epsom Road Flemington Vic 3031, Australia Telephone: +61 3 9227 3000

Fax: +61 3 9227 3030 Email: hra@hra.com.au

2021 INTER DOMINION

Inter Dominion Championship Series

Governance

The Inter Dominion Championship was first developed in 1935-36 and was conducted under the auspices of the Inter Dominion Harness Racing Council (IDHRC), with representatives from both Australia and New Zealand, until early 2008. From that date, the supervision of the Series was assigned to an **Inter Dominion Event Committee** comprised of members appointed by Harness Racing Australia (HRA) and Harness Racing New Zealand (HRNZ).

Inter Dominion Event Committee

- 1. The Committee is comprised of two representatives chosen by the Executive of HRA, and two representatives chosen by the Executive of HRNZ.
- 2. The Chair will be appointed from one of the representatives of the country not holding the event.
- 3. The Secretary will be either the CEO of HRA or HRNZ, and will rotate depending on which country will host the Series in that year.
- 4. Consensus based decision making is expected, and representatives have an equal vote in any ballot.
- 5. The Committee will oversee the event, including marketing, approve all Series Terms and Conditions, Reciprocal Agreements, etc and will resolve any disputes that arise.
- 6. The Committee is responsible for the development of guidelines for the conduct of the Series and for providing recommendations on Committee composition and responsibilities to HRA and HRNZ.

Inter Dominion Championship Series – Governance – as at 15 December 2019.

Inter Dominion Event Committee Members

Composition as at 4 June 2021

HRA representatives: Graeme Campbell OAM; Dean Cooper

HRNZ representatives: Ken Spicer, Colin Hair

Chair: Ken Spicer (Harness Racing New Zealand)
Secretary: Andrew Kelly (Harness Racing Australia)





Terms and Definitions:

"Controlling Body" means a body of persons, which by convention or recognition or an enactment of law is deemed to be in control of harness racing in a particular State, Territory or Country.

Relevant bodies are:

- 1. Harness Racing New South Wales being the Controlling Body for harness racing in New South Wales;
- 2. Harness Racing Victoria being the Controlling Body for harness racing in Victoria;
- 3. Racing Queensland being the Controlling Body for harness racing in Queensland;
- 4. Harness Racing South Australia being the Controlling Body for harness racing in South Australia;
- 5. Racing and Wagering Western Australia being the Controlling Body for harness racing in Western Australia;
- 6. Tasracing Pty Ltd jointly with Racing Services Tasmania being the Controlling Body for harness racing in Tasmania; and
- 7. Harness Racing New Zealand being the Controlling Body for harness racing in New Zealand.

"Conducting Club" means the club responsible for the holding of the Inter Dominion Championships in a particular State or area of New Zealand.

Relevant Bodies are:

- 1. New South Wales Harness Racing Club being the Conducting Club for the holding of the Inter Dominion Championships in New South Wales.
- 2. HRV Management being the Conducting Club for the holding of the Inter Dominion Championships in Victoria.
- 3. Albion Park Harness Racing Club being the Conducting Club for the holding of the Inter Dominion Championships in Queensland.
- 4. Gloucester Park Harness Racing being the Conducting Club for the holding of the Inter Dominion Championships in Western Australia.
- 5. Tasmanian Pacing Club being the Conducting Club for the holding of the Inter Dominion Championships in Tasmania.
- 6. Auckland Trotting Club being the Conducting Club for the holding of the Inter Dominion Championships in the north island of New Zealand.
- 7. New Zealand Metropolitan Trotting Club being the Conducting Club for the holding of the Inter Dominion Championships in the south island of New Zealand.

Please Note: On 2nd March 2008 the Inter Dominion Harness Racing Council was formally dissolved at a meeting in Melbourne. The supervision of future Inter Dominion Series is being undertaken by an Event Committee (IDEC) comprising of members appointed by Harness Racing Australia and Harness Racing New Zealand. This document has been adapted from the previous IDHRC document to reflect the new arrangement.