



Harness Racing Australia INC ABN 19877460923



AUSTRALIAN PACING GRAND CIRCUIT & TROTTING MASTERS



Guidelines

In 2012, two race series known as the Pacing Grand Circuit and the Trotting Masters were established, replacing the previous Grand Circuit arrangement (from 1992), following a review of the positioning and relevance of the existing series. A revised framework for the series was adopted based on the following:

- 1. Until otherwise decided, the two series of races shall be known as the Australian Pacing Grand Circuit ("the Grand Circuit") and the Australian Trotting Masters ("the Masters") – to be known collectively as "The Circuits".
- 2. The Feature Race Committee (FRC) of Harness Racing Australia will meet annually to recommend the races comprising The Circuits, with races selected according to the Group Racing Guidelines for HRA Executive approval.
- 3. Until the FRC otherwise decides, the names of races that appear in The Circuits shall be as listed in the relevant series Calendar.
- 4. A race shall not be entered into or deleted from the Calendars without the prior consent of the FRC (with approval from the HRA Executive).
- 5. All races, whether single event races or where the event is raced as a series - the final race of such series, shall be a Group One and have an advertised minimum stake money threshold of \$200,000.
- 6. Races in The Circuits may be mobile or standing start events and may be raced over any distance of a mile or more.
- 7. With the exception of the Miracle Mile, all races in The Circuits shall be open nomination events and without discrimination as to age, sex, ownership, training or domicile.
- 8. Clubs conducting races in The Circuits may set such other conditions as they desire, providing they are not in conflict with or the intent of Clause seven (7) or other applicable rules and/or agreements.
- 9. Any group of Member Clubs conducting the Circuit races may combine to establish point score competitions or the like, whereby additional prizes or bonuses are paid to the owners of the winner of a group of races or meet some other condition.
- 10. The Controlling Body of each State shall ensure that a race or Carnival will not be programmed so as to clash with races in The Circuits.



- 11. Each individual race of The Circuits shall be raced under the Rules of Harness Racing of the State concerned and, where applicable, the Rules of the FRC.
- 12. This framework shall be reviewed as the need arises.

Australian Pacing Grand Circuit Champion and Australian Trotting Master

- 13. A Points System competition shall be conducted on all races of The Circuits on the basis of 100 for first, 60 for second, 40 for third, 20 for fourth, 10 for fifth, 5 for sixth, 4 for seventh, 3 for eighth, 2 for ninth, and 1 for tenth and lower placed horses. 0 points apply for Did Not Start, Did Not Finish or Disqualified.
- 14. In the event of a dead heat, the points of such horses dead heating shall be added together and equally divided.
- 15. The horse with the greatest number of points at the conclusion of each of The Circuit series shall be declared the winner of the Points System Competition for that racing season, that is:
 - Australian Pacing Grand Circuit Champion(s).
 - Australian Trotting Master(s).
- 16. In the event two or more horses tie for first placing on points, such horses shall be declared joint winners of the Points System Competition. There are no count-back provisions.
- 17. For the purposes of calculating points, the winner and place getters are those who are ultimately declared the winner and placegetters of such race.
- 18. Naming rights sponsorship may be offered from time to time on a commercial basis.

Australian Grand Circuit and Australian Trotting Masters - Guidelines - as of 1 January 2023.